Posted by: Geoff | January 6, 2015

Remains of the Coast Artillery School

Coast-Artillery-School

Last Sunday we took a stroll around part of where the Coast Artillery School used to stand on the Great Orme, here is a plaque that commemorates it…

Artillery-School-Great-Orme

… foundations where buildings once stood, here is a view of this area from Marine Drive…

Artillery-School-Llandudno

… this building still stands…

Great-Orme-Llandudno

… as does this one…

Artillery-School-Llandudno-

…and here is part of what appears to have been the shower/toilet block, the porcelain is still in very good condition!

More on the school can be seen here.

Responses

  1. Are there any Martello towers in Wales?
    I’ve only come across few in Hampshire, Sussex, Suffolk, etc.

    • None that I am aware of, I believe there are a couple in South Wales though.

  2. Fascinating. I love poking about sites like this. It also has one of the best views in Llandudno. You certainly find things to interest us.

  3. Mr.B asks me to tell you that when he was on TA exercises in the 60’s he used to stage the lorries there overnight and let the men have a break in Llandudno. Happy days.Thanks for the memory!

    • Interesting story Barbara, there is still lots to see around there. I’ll take more photos the next time I’m there.

  4. That is all most interesting. I’d guess there were some scary times in your city during WWII!

  5. The Orme is steeped with fascinating history.thanks Geoff for enlightening us all.good to know your shores were well defended in ww2.. il look out for these places during my next visit in july.. šŸ™‚

  6. I bet all kinds of discoveries can be made at a site like this.

  7. Strangely, I never think of Wales as having places like this in WWII. Silly me! Of course you did!!

  8. Very interesting, I didn’t know there were bunker like structures in Wales. The remains of the loo/shower are amazing!

  9. Hopefully we’ll be looking around here when next in Llandudno. Very interesting.

  10. This must have been a great location for the school!

  11. It’s a little spooky. I’m glad it’s not in use and I hope nothing like it is ever needed again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

