Posted by: Geoff | September 20, 2013

Bathing machines return to Llandudno

Picture of bathing machine Llandudno

This bathing machine appeared on the promenade yesterday afternoon.

Bathing machines were first introduced to Llandudno in the mid 1850s and for 6d (2 1/2p) the occupant could change into their bathing costume inside the hut.  The machine was then drawn by a horse into the sea and the bather was allowed 40 minutes before it was pulled out of the water.

The bathing machines have been reintroduced as part of the Llandudno Arts Festival weekend which starts today.

Responses

  1. I’ve never seen such a thing. How fun is that? Times have changed! Thank goodness!

  2. ok, that is so interesting! i’ve never heard of that before! it’s so cute too!

  3. This is a new one to me. I’m assuming is was because of modesty. Interesting.

  4. Lovely photograph. Would like this as a little garden shed!

  5. You’ve inspired me to look these up further! Like Sharon, I was assuming it was because of modesty. Lovely whimsical look and color too.

  6. I love this shot! The colors are gorgeous. I had never heard of bathing machines, so I had to look them up. What an interesting, odd tradition! I learned something new today! Thanks!

  7. I always woundered what the wheels on the huts were for, a brilliant idea so to have a little private dip in the sea with your modesty in tact.thanks for sharing that info geoff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

